Daily Stories

October 26, 2013

Hi.
Hi.

So, I am a journalist who is not keeping a journal and today I thought of the need to start an online journal/diary.  But I doubt if I’ll have any readers but, whatever, who cares. Well in other news, I would like to describe my week.

21st of October:  The first day of the 15th InkBlots. It was a national journalism fellowship which was held at my university. I learned a lot from different premier writers (ranging from National Artists to notable columnists in the Metro) that day. I also got the chance to interview Tom Rodriguez, a [totally] hot actor from a recent teleserye aired on national television. Well, I was totally starstruck, but I knew that I needed to handle my feels since I needed to get used to seeing celebrities and other personalities when I become a practicing journalist.

15th InkBlots (photo courtesy of The Varsitarian)
15th InkBlots (photo courtesy of The Varsitarian)
Tom Rodriguez
Tom Rodriguez

22nd of October: The second  day of the 15th InkBlots. Well, there was a new set of key speakers from whom I have learned a whole lot more and once again, I got the chance to interview The Philippine Azkals’ Phil and James Younghusband (their British accent swept me off my feet), Chieffy Caligdong (I look up to this guy A LOT) and Ginebra San Miguel’s Chris Ellis (he is a swaggernaut! [swagger astronaut]). Well, I asked them some words of encouragement for those who is failing to believe in themselves and to those who think that sports isn’t for them at all. All their answers really sprang forth from a true athlete’s heart. Then and there I knew that they really had a passion for what they were doing.  I ended my day with a sense of fulfillment.

(from left to right) James Younghusband, Phil Younghusband, Chieffy Caligdong and Chris Ellis
(from left to right) James Younghusband, Phil Younghusband, Chieffy Caligdong and Chris Ellis

23rd of October: The last day of the 15th InkBlots. Too bad it ended too soon. It was a productive day, and I got the chance to get to know my new friends some more. There was little socialization here and there, but I really felt that the journalism fellowship was really a fulfilling learning experience.

Me and my friends with the 15th InkBlots' Fellowship Night guest, Ms. Joyce Pring
Me and my friends with the 15th InkBlots’ Fellowship Night guest, Ms. Joyce Pring

With all these said and done, I finally had the guts to start my own, “legit” blog.

By the way, here are a few tidbits from the 24th-25th of October, which I consider as the less significant days of my week [so far]:

24th: I was expecting someone but unfortunately he failed to show up. I felt disappointed, and I just couldn’t let him go away that easy with what he’s done. Thank heavens that I had my closest cousin with me at home, and we just spent time together, and of course, since I was feeling the bad vibes all over, I slept [a lot].

25th: Enrollment day! Counting a legit pile of cash in my hands feels so odd. Had lunch with the entire family after enrolling, and too bad we weren’t able to go to the Magnolia Ice Cream Parlor.

Traditional Adobo from Adobo Connection at Robinsons Magnolia
Traditional Adobo from Adobo Connection at Robinsons Magnolia

Today was just a typical Saturday. My mom and I sent off my grandmum and my cousin to the bus terminal as they needed to head home, and then we went straight to the salon to get our nails done. When we finally got home, my tita arrived and brought fettuccine spaghetti for me and I was really, really happy.

This ends my  first, “legit” blog post. I will be posting more thoughts and other stuff every once in a while. xx

Leave a Reply

