The Commercialized Holidays

Hello.

Here are some of the random thoughts I had while watching various advertisements on my lapse time in front of the perpetual television screen:

DISCLAIMER: I am not trying to go against tradition, all of the stuff you’re about to read are my own opinion. Reader reaction control is advised.

> Here in the Philippines, the countdown to Christmas is really a big deal.

> When the 1st of September kicked in, almost all of the TV ads are Yuletide-themed.

> Special feature shows, lifestyle shows and the like are already encouraging people to shop for Christmas. Hey, It’s more than a month away and we still have time, we do not need to rush!

> The only good thing about the commercialized holidays are the holiday-themed shorts (with shorts I mean short flicks that are inspirational and made independently). These “shorts” are really inspiring, heart-warming and serves as a reminder of the “real essence of Christmas”.

Let me add this:

> Since as of the moment, people are celebrating/commemorating Halloween (I don’t know why but they just do), there are lots of Halloween specials and stuff all over TV. When you switch the channel, the thing they air is scary. You watch a sitcom, the thing they talk about is scary, too. Even the TV ads are scary. This season creeps me out, seriously. I wish they could air something that can be considered “viewer-with-heart-problems-friendly”.

Well, these are just some of my sentiments about the television landscape. I admit, I patronize both mainstream and non-mainstream media, and I appreciate them at an equal scale, but sometimes, the mainstreams have gone too far. In my own opinion, they’ve been trying to steer viewer’s minds into thinking that the holidays are all about extravagant banquets and excessive shopping. Well, I hope just like the “shorts”, which I love dearly, they steer people’s minds into thinking that the holidays is a reminder of the humility present when Jesus was born, and the special Christmas values inculcated in us for everyone to uphold. (Nuxxxxx hahahahaha!)

AND BY THE WAY, STOP FREAKING EVERYONE OUT WITH THOSE HALLOWEEN SPECIALS. THEY SCARE THE SH** OUT OF [ALMOST] EVERYONE. THANKS. xx

Author: marlapapas

The girl your mother warned you about.

Leave a Reply

