October 29, 2013

Hi.

So I skipped a day of posting a blog entry for yesterday, and I feel a bit guilty. Well, it was another normal day, except for a major coincidence I didn’t see coming.

As I was strolling through some shoe stalls at the department store, I saw my best friend’s sister, and it really took me at least 5 seconds to process what was happening. My initial reaction was: “Asan ang ate mo?” And there was Pat, my best friend from high school whom I haven’t been able to catch up with for months was right there, alongside her other siblings, her mom and her grandma. It was a brief chat with her since we didn’t have the luxury of time, but it really felt so good to be with her after those busy college months.

Image

I am left with a question I always have when I experience something surprising. I always think of particular things or persons (like I feel like I’ll have pizza tonight or I thought about him/her today, how could she be doing?) and then eventually they show up. No joke. I am serious. When I think of something, suddenly they happen. Maybe I can apply in my life the saying: “Be careful what you wish for.” Fortunately, so far of all the things I’ve been thinking off, which eventually happens, all of them are positive. Oh well.

Today is another day [to be a mouse potato].

I woke up at around past 9, bought instant noodles to eat for breakfast, neglected the thought of exercising, sat down in front of the computer all day long. As of the moment, I have not bathed both my dog and myself, because of the laziness and procrastination I’ve possessed the entire day. Another thing is that, it’s obvious that tomorrow’s gonna be the 30th, the day that we’re scheduled to leave for La Union, but still, I haven’t started packing [yet].

Being the mouse potato that I am, I just decided to watch the film adaptation of the book I’ve been reading. This book [and the movie] is entitled “Ligo Na U, Lapit Na Me” which is written by Mr. Eros Atalia, a professor at the University where I am taking up my Journalism degree. He has been awarded with several literary writing awards and he is also a writer for a tabloid. A friend of mine suggested that I check out his works, notably “Ligo Na U, Lapit Na Me” because it has a really great story (apart from the fact that it is a GREAT Filipino Indie film). I found it funny, sensual and inspiring, because of the thought that there is really a fine line between friendship and love.

Image

At the 15th InkBLots, Mr. Eros Atalia was one of the speakers, and he gave a talk about Filipino Journalism. Before his talk started, I went to where he seated at the hall and asked if he can sign my book. I also asked if he will be my prof for next semester’s Philippine Literature subject, but he said, “Ano namang karapatan kong magturo ng Phil. Lit?” [laughs] Sire Eros was really a cool guy! After the signing the note he left in my book says:

Image

Hanapin ko daw si Jen. But the real question is, how will I find Jen?

Well, as I read this book I am still left wondering how I can find Jen. Is she within me (feeler) or is she within someone else?

Maybe I should take a bath now, and start packing my stuff for tomorrow morning’s trip.

I may not be able to post for 2-3 days but I hope I can capture some of the significant moments I’ll have in La Union.

Advanced Happy Halloween and All Souls’ Day. xx

Author: marlapapas

The girl your mother warned you about.

Leave a Reply

