Holiday Rush

 

So here it goes…

The 1st of December is the municipality day [who cares], and both my late Lola’s and my Tita’s birthday. Since dad’s birthday came in days before, it was celebrated simultaneously with the day’s festivities in our tiny but happy household. It was really great spending time with my cousins, eating good home-cook cuisine my family can boast of, and just let the good times roll. I am thankful to be the family’s last “apo” [grandchild] because even though I am an only child, my cousins serve as my siblings and they tend to spoil me too [because I am the only one left studying, all of them are already working]!

Image

Fast forward to another week, I finally met the meme that makes me really, really happy. One day while I was staging our reading theatre performance, I noticed that there was this guy wearing this “Doge” mask and holds signs like “much christmas”, “nice doge” while sitting at one of the benches near to where we’re practicing. When I approached him to ask for a photo, he didn’t utter a single word, he just nodded when I posed here and there to get a photo op with him.  He’s really making people happy and at the same time, astounded and curious. Here’s a snapshot:

Image

“much christmas, nice doge, such wow~~~”

Fast forward once again to another week as Christmas is fast approaching and my Dad finally decided to buy Macy. In case you’re wondering who Macy is, it isn’t a dog, or a bike, or whatsoever thing I give names to. It’s a 13″ MacBook Pro, which he intended to purchase for me when I turn 18 next year. But since my dad can’t handle the awesomeness of this mean machine, he decided to buy it right away and have me look forward to what he’s up to for my [also fast approaching] 18th birthday. He thought of the need to invest on stuff like these in order to help me achieve greater productivity, as well as to aide me through the course of my career as a journalist [or as an educator] in the near future. I still have to study Macy’s technological prowess, since she has other greater functions that are still alien to me, and I need mentoring just in case she eats me alive out of being dumbfounded.

Since this season is also the time to do excessive shopping not for oneself but for other people you hold dear [or maybe even not], I have been limiting my food intake in order to meet the budget I had to have in order to buy gifts for my closest friends and family. Top that off with Christmas parties here and there, mall-wide, store-wide or nationwide sales and thrift markets in all areas of the approximate metropolis, and many other expenses incurred in line of the spirit of Christmas. I have shopped for books to give to loved ones, clothes and other novelty stuff that I find reasonable, functional and significant among many others. But the happiest part of this shopping experience are the memories you share with the people you do Christmas shopping with. Another thing is the publication’s Christmas party. There were definitely good food, good laughter and good companions [not just co-workers] in The Flame. I am glad that I made the right choice of applying and eventually working for them. Here are some of my Christmas shopping and party snapshots:

993495_771965842819240_1126933101_n

BcO8S2UCIAAS8gs.jpg-large

1460970_10202761217490129_1180793210_n

To add to the Holiday Rush, well, spending time with people you love or care for the most are one of the best things in life [that are for free]. I happened to come across this Dutch word, “Gezellig”, translated as convivial, cozy, fun, quaint, or nice atmosphere, but can also connote belonging, time spent with loved ones, the fact of seeing a friend after a long absence, or general togetherness (from Wikipedia). With this, after almost more than two months of not seeing each other [and not talking to him,actually], I met up and hung out with one of my best[est] guy friends, Arv. Well, we’ve been friends for like 4 years, so we pretty much know each other very well. He’s pretty attractive, though [as what everyone says of him] and he’s really fun to be with [no wonder why lots of girls fancy him]. So, yes, basically it is really hard to describe him without sounding like I’m fangirling, so that’s it.  It was “Gezellig”, at its finest. I missed hanging out this weird kid so much. Here’s an outtake I personally liked the most:

1506509_775471989135292_584127237_n

Furthermore…..

I didn’t attend the Paskuhan of my beloved alma mater because I was lazy as f*** and I don’t want to experience too much hassle. So I just rested and prepared for the trip my family was set to do the day after. Going to my maternal grandparents’ house in Pampanga is so good. Good in the sense that there’s good food and good times and new nieces and nephews every once in a while to cheer up the place a little bit. Here are some really cute and adorable photos of my nephew and niece!

DSC_1171

DSC_1182

Sunday, the day after our Pampanga trip, was yet another family day. After we went to church, my dad decided to take me and my mum to the Quezon Memorial Circle in Quezon City, which also happens to be a Christmas hotspot here in the Metro. I was really surprised to see lots of kids having fun, friends and family hanging out with each other, thrift shops here and there and different food shacks that is definitely a gastronomic paradise. The story behind this family date is that 17 years ago, Daddy and Mommy planned to date there, but unfortunately they ended up in the Ninoy Aquino Parks and Wildlife Park just a few blocks away. It was an epic fail but really memorable date for the both of them, and after marriage and with a full grown baby-girl [which is me] they decided to revisit the place, and bring back old memories. Well, as we were strolling through the entirety of the circular park, famous for the 60 foot-tall [am I right?] memorial monument of the 1st President of the Philippine Commonwealth, Manuel L. Quezon. Well, here are quite a few photos [I’ve chosen the best ones!] from our Sunday family bonding:

IMG_0529

The Quezon Memorial Shrine, under renovation.

IMG_0528

The tomb of former President Manuel L. Quezon

IMG_0503

The carnival inside the Quezon City Circle 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

#ootd : Top from Paperdolls and Co., Denim Pants from Forever 21 , Shoes from Shoebox, vintage bag from Esprit 

IMG_0505

This tattoo shack caught my eye because of it’s catchy name which resounded a Filipino bad word [I often use, lol!]  

1482820_775534025795755_756860335_n

I scream for Ice Cream!  

Well, these are just some of the great things that has happened to me before the onset of Christmas day. I know that “the true essence of Christmas” is too cliche already, but, I think that Christmas is Christmas if, as Joseph Gordon-Levitt said, “It’s not much about what you do, it’s who you do it with.” If we really cherish these moments that can only happen at least once a year with our treasured loved ones, may they be near or far, Christmas will not be just a season to splurge but a season to remember and continually commemorate with joy and LOVE. Merry Christmas!

P.S; As a virtual gift, you can comment and/or promote my blog so that we can interact and collaborate!

On to the next one! xx 

(various photos were taken with a Nikon D3200, iPhone 3GS and iPhone 5, and post-processed with VSCOCam App for iOS)

Author: marlapapas

The girl your mother warned you about.

Leave a Reply

