Travel

Postcards from Pagudpud

Hi!

So I’m back from my two days #DigitalDetox! Yayy for me! I didn’t know that taking such a long break from all the internet fuss can give me peace of mind, really.

Without further due, let me talk about how the 2nd day of our tour went. We headed for Pagudpud– a 1-2 hour drive from Laoag City, and we had lots of stops before reaching what is known as the northwestern-most tip of the Philippine mainland.

IMG_5339

First up, we dropped by at the Patapat Viaduct, a bridge built on steep slopes connecting Ilocos Norte to Cagayan Valley. It is not a bridge over a body of water, but instead, it is a bridge between a mountain and a body of water [West Philippine Sea]. It has the best view of the sunrise [and otherwise, if you get there at around sunset]. Here’s some snapshots:

DSC_0194

(The curbs of the Patapat Viaduct)

As we go on towards Maira Ira Beach, also known as the Blue Lagoon in Pagudpud, we stopped by a few picturesque sceneries that have been part of the town’s culture.

DSC_0207

The shipwreck, as shown in the photo above, ran aground the rocky and shallow sea floor of the area, and not one country ever assumed responsibility for it. With this, the town’s mayor decided to salvage the ship, leaving only this part of the wreckage. Imagine playing actual minesweeper!

DSC_0210

The boulder you see there, they call it “Babae”, simply because it has a hole in it. Pretty clever and nasty, right?

And now, to the main event.

I cannot describe the way I felt when I first saw a white sand beach. I felt thrilled to be able to set foot on such pristine white grounds. No wonder Pagudpud is called “Boracay of the North” because of its white sand and alluring waters.

DSC_0215 DSC_0216

 

(The pristine white shores of the Boracay of the North, Pagudpud.)

IMG_5159 IMG_5160

(Some snapshots with my cousin!)

IMG_5192

(My favorite bikini-ish shot! **Blog-exclusive, hahaha!)

We had a really great time there, thanks to Hannah’s Beach Resort and Convention Center’s services. The few hours we had to bask in the sun and savor Pagudpud’s beauty wasn’t enough, but all in all, it was still worth it.

After hitting the beach, we headed to the famous Bangui Windmills, which supplies 40% of Ilocos Norte’s energy supply. It is also a renewable energy source and lessens the emission of greenhouse gases which is bad for the environment. It is also hailed as a megastructure, for its enormous height and its other significant attributes. Bangui Beach is really a site to see!

10004059_834682406547583_6510073317756939113_n

Next stop, Kapurpurawan Rock Formation! I really marveled the scenery. It is really peaceful, and unadulteratedly natural. I also decided to do my #OOTD there! Here’s some snapshots:

DSC_0279

DSC_0295

(#OOTD: Sunnies from Sunnies by Charlie|Top from Zara|Shorts from H&M)

Right after being in Kapurpurawan, we headed straight to Cape Bojeador, also known as the Burgos Lighthouse. It was built during the Spanish era to guide fishermen to safety. Unfortunately, its museum and the actual lighthouse is closed for renovation, but I’m sure I would be back to revisit the place again.

10153261_834761376539686_3034152589594368580_n

Some cute and colorful handmade souvenirs of the Bangui Windmills and of the Cape Bojeador sold right down the Nagparitan Hill.

DSC_0322

After a whole day of touring, we returned to our hotels to prepare for tomorrow’s early check out and road trip to Vigan. We had dinner at Ravenden’s, a cozy place offering authentic Kapampangan cuisine [yes, Kapampangan cuisine, for a change, I guess.]

So, I guess that’s the end of this travel post, I hope you guys like it! I’ll be releasing “Bring Me Back to Vigan” later this week. Also, today I’ll be starting my driving lessons, so wish me luck!

On to the next one!

 

xx,

Marla 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

