Daily Stories, Personals

My Life, Lately [Part 2]

I knew I had to work on the Part 2 to get on the hype of having been able to publish the first one.

So here it is!

Korean Wave

The last time I went gaga over K-dramas [well, Asian dramas, generally] was way back in high school. The feeling of immersing oneself in an Asian romantic comedy series is really overwhelming, and that feeling has occurred to me once again. At the moment, I can’t stop gushing over Kim Soo Hyun (he’s starred at the series Moon Embracing The Sun and Dream High, as well as the movies Secretly, Greatly and The Thieves). I saw his great acting skills at the recently aired on local TV K-drama “My Love from The Stars” [originally “You Who Came from The Stars” in SBS Korea], and he portrays a 404 year-old alien Do Min Joon who falls in love with the biggest hallyu star of the present, Cheon Song Yi [played by Gianna Jun, previously seen on My Sassy Girl and Windstruck]. Their chemistry is really great, the way they look together is really great and their undeniably great acting skills are just the icing on the cake. I really, really ship them [but how I wish I was Cheon Song Yi]. After stalking Kim Soo Hyun for quite some time now, I’ve heard and read a lot about him, and unlike other young actors that have been making it big on the hallyu scene, he’s a standout. Recently, he’s donated a huge sum of money and tons of rice to donate to children in China, and he used to play badminton with his neighborhood’s elders when he has spare time on weekends. How cool is that? Anyways, I hoarded some snapshots of him, but here’s the one I like most, courtesy of Grazia/ Google Images.

1011349_577506345633114_1638850545_n

I even got Soo Hyun all over my desktop background!

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 2.54.22 PM

The Korean Wave I’m having at the moment doesn’t stop there.

Korean movies are the bomb! They have interesting plots [and plot twists] that would definitely get you at the edge of your seat. Most are tearjerkers and some are really inspiring stories,  and it will really make you appreciate the Korean values embedded in all of its scenes. I’ve watched My Sassy Girl (2001) [which had a Hollywood remake in 2008], Windstruck (2004), Miracle in Cell No. 7 (2013) [It’ll get all the feels inside of you and can consume you for days] and 200 Pound Beauty (2006). What I like most was 200 Pounds Beauty, because it is the story of a girl completely hidden behind the shadows of a top, sexy singer that uses her voice onstage. She struggles to find love and acceptance from people around her as well as the love of her life, and eventually, she resorted to the extremes to do such thing. I’ve got a screen grab from the movie, in which the lines are actually usable in my day to day life.

10372784_878287378853752_6668111760377740738_n

Loomband Mania 

At first I thought this new kiddie craze will frustrate the shit out of me, turns out, it got me hooked!

It took me 5 small children, all of which are my little cousins, to teach me how to make my first loomband bracelet, and guess what, they educated me about this thing very well. At the moment I’ve hoarded looms of different colors and I’ve started making different charms, as I devotedly follow the step-by-step instructions of Made by Mommy on YouTube, which makes my loombanding experience a whole lot easier.

Some of the charms I made [using just my crochet hook]:

10177516_866523886696768_4418485943929988991_n

(From left to right: Butterfly, Lollipop, Snowflake [inspired by Frozen], Infinity Symbol, Butterfly, Breast Cancer Advocacy Ribbon, Gingerbread Man, Four-Leaf Clover and Miniature Cross)

Great People and Great Times

Well, just recently, I’ve caught up with my high school homies that I haven’t seen for quite a long time! College has been very hectic for all of us and catching up was an impossible thing to do. Luckily, fate has given us the chance to meet up and spend time with each other. These guys have been with me through thick and thin, and I am really glad to still have them in my life. Growing up alone isn’t really a smooth ride, but having friends — people that actually know you inside and out definitely made that tough ride really enjoyable.

10261972_857892027559954_7673300449618827842_n

Just last Saturday, 14th of June, one of my best friends, Precious (the girl at the right most part of the photo above) celebrated her 18th birthday. Of course, this was another chance to catch up with some of my friends and the best part was we were all dressed up for the event! [Because you rarely see your friends transform from their normal selves to their best-dressed-selves, and for me that’s a big deal, so yeah]

10375147_877637898918700_8677636082080745181_n

10474370_883619158320637_265473589_n

Summer vacation has bummed the sh*t out of me, and honestly, it sucks to not spend time with people you feel really happy with. On top of that, being free from all of life’s extra concerns is a must for every person, no matter how serious you are with whatever it is that you’re doing. Of course, I am really glad to be able to spend some time with my best pal from college. From spontaneous lunches at quite-fancy restaurants to chill-at-home hangouts, no time is wasted when we’re together, and it was really a breath of fresh air to watch The Fault In Our Stars with her [because your best bud will not judge you if you look ugly whilst you sob heavily because of a sick love story].

10259723_843801488969008_1054388945978286763_n Photo on 5-21-14 at 6.29 PM #3 Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 3.40.43 PM Maybe there’s still room for Part 3. I wouldn’t want this post to be too lengthy. [See what I did there?]

On to the next one!

xx,

Marla 🙂

Leave a Reply

