This One Is For You

This one is for you, you that made me feel ‘gathered’ and ‘scattered’ all at the same time.
You that made me feel secure yet not really at the same time, too.

This one is for you, the one I wish I held so close.
You who opened me up to new things my poor little mind didn’t know of.

This one is for you, you who’s done almost everything with great ease,
You who seemed so capable of everything, a showcase I am pretty much proud of.

This one is for you, the one I once thought was mine,
The one who held my hand at times I was lost, you whose smile once warmed me up on cold nights.

This one is for you, you whose often disheveled mane was a sight I behold,
The one who suits up so plain yet so grand at times.

This one is for you, whose mere stare makes me gush,
You who certainly redefined my standards but fell short of it.

This one is for you, you whose proved to me that love is superficial–
Or maybe it wasn’t even love after all.

This one is for you, you who certainly regard me as inanimate,
You who made me realize I was insignificant.

This one is for you, you whose dreams I believe were doable,
The one who thought I couldn’t get back up and reach my own.

This one is for you, you who introduced me to a whole new dimension of taste–
A taste so bitter I cannot actually forget.

This one is for you, you who made me feel more of a woman,
But less of myself.

This one is for you, you who made me feel loved— or lack thereof.

Author: marlapapas

The girl your mother warned you about.

Leave a Reply

