The girl from this place called ‘somewhere’

I realized maybe I was drawn to you not by fate, but by reason.

With my heart as my mind, all blood turned emotion.

The girl from this place called ‘somewhere’ was drawn to you from the blue side of the fence.

High walls are my line of defense as all these emotions come but never commence.


I once thought I’d aspire alone, now you’re part of my world, all  doubts have gone.

But you have high hopes, they’re not for me.

Maybe you’ve fled to somewhere filled with glee,

That somewhere, I was once part of, now far away from me.


Maybe it’s pressure-driven,

Maybe I was born to earn what’s not given,

Maybe my heart is fooling me once and for all,

Maybe it’s my mind that’s starting to fall


I built all these walls as my line of defense

I swore to never feel things, but my heart changed its cadence.

Author: marlapapas

The girl your mother warned you about.

Leave a Reply

